Catalogo / Women’s Life

Women’s Life
Volume in lingua inglese
ISBN 9788822906557
2021, pp. 104
120x182 mm, brossura
€ 12,00
€ 11,40 (prezzo online -5%)
Altre edizioni
Il libro

In this book, Isabella Ducrot evokes and gives voice to three fundamental issues: what it is to be a woman, childhood, and – most important of all – what she terms “ignorance”. These three experiences of alienation, so often intertwined in our culture, are questioned here from a personal perspective. Blending together thoughts, short stories and autobiographical recollections, Isabella Ducrot reveals how the not-knowing of childhood and the age-old exclusion of women from all kinds of cultural or social discourse are not only experiences of estrangement and forms of suffering at being deprived of a voice, they may also offer an unprecedented and privileged gateway to reconquering that voice. The author seems to suggest that if one wishes to understand the intricacies of theological dogma, one must be able to chant it out as if it were a nursery rhyme, savouring its very meaninglessness.
“There is no tomorrow, there is no tomorrow,” runs the whispering refrain at the end of her reflections; her awareness of this fact seems to open the path to irresistible happiness.

Isabella Ducrot

IT. Isabella Ducrot (Napoli 1931) da anni ha fatto dello studio e dell’interesse per la storia dei tessuti il centro delle sue opere pittoriche e dei suoi scritti. Tra i suoi libri ricordiamo La matassa primordiale (nottetempo, 2008), Text on textile (Sylph Edition, 2012) Suonno (La Conchiglia, 2012), Fallaste corazon (Il Notes Magico, 2012). Presso Quodlibet ha pubblicato La stoffa a quadri (2018), La vita femminile (2021) e I ventidue luoghi dello spirito (2022).

EN. Isabella Ducrot (Naples 1931) has for many years focused her paintings and writings on studying and pursuing her interest in the history of textiles. Her books include La matassa primordiale (nottetempo, 2008), Text on Textile (Sylph Editions, 2008), Suonno (La Conchiglia, 2012), and Fallaste corazon (Il Notes Magico, 2012). For Quodlibet, she has written The Checkered Cloth (2019), Women’s Life (2021) and Twenty-Two Places of the Soul (2022).

Pubblicazioni dell'autore
Isabella Ducrot

Twenty-Two Places of the Soul

euro 13,30
Isabella Ducrot


€ 80,00
Isabella Ducrot

I ventidue luoghi dello spirito

euro 13,30
Isabella Ducrot

La vita femminile

euro 11,40
Isabella Ducrot

The checkered cloth

euro 13,30
Isabella Ducrot

La stoffa a quadri

euro 13,30
Volumi della stessa collana